Countries whose citizens require ETIAS

Find out the essential requirements needed for an ETIAS travel authorization. Read about the eligible visa waiver countries and how to apply.

Entry Requirements for the Schengen Zone

ETIAS stands for Europe Travel Information and Authorization System. Following terrorist attacks, the EU saw the need to increment safety. The ETIAS program has been created to improve security in the area, both for locals and visitors.

The European Council is certain that this new border and migration policy will increase security and help protect Europe from any possible future threats. ETIAS aims to increase mobility and migration of foreign visitors.

The ETIAS for EU proposal suggests that initially there will be 60 countries eligible to submit an online ETIAS visa waiver application. The ETIAS visa waiver is a travel authorization for business or touristic purposes, and will not be a substitute for a student or working visa. Any third country nationals who wish to live, study, work, or remain in Europe longer than 90 days, will have to apply for a visa suitable for their situation.

The following eligible ETIAS countries will be expected to apply for the European visa waiver as of 2022. Applicants need to meet the ETIAS requirements to get the visa waiver. Among the requirements, visitors need to have a passport from one of the ETIAS eligible countries.


The list of ETIAS eligible countries is subject to changes, as nations work on improving travel for their citizens:

  • Country of origin
  • European destination
  • Schengen eligible countries


The ETIAS requirements are essential for completing the application process. ETIAS will be similar to other travel authorization visa waivers; e.g., the US ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization), the Canadian eTA (electronic travel authorization), and the Australian eTA.

Applicants should ensure they can fulfill the ETIAS requirements in order to complete the applciation form successfully. It is crucial that those who wish to travel to Europe have the necessary documentation to complete a travel authorization application. Applicants must be citizens of the ETIAS eligible countries.

Each applicant will be requested to meet the following Europe visa waiver requirements:

All applicants will be expected to provide the following biographical information:

  • First name(s)
  • Surname or family name
  • Maiden name (if applicable)
  • Usual name(s)
  • Date of birth
  • Place of birth
  • Country of birth
  • Gender
  • Nationality

During the application process, the ETIAS system will require the applicant to include:

  • Passport number
  • Issuance and expiration date
  • If applicable, provide additional passport data

Among other ETIAS requirements, travelers who wish to visit Europe need to offer their contact information:

  • Current address
  • Email address
  • Phone number

Additional info to be offered by the applicant:

  • Member state of intended first entry
  • Education and current employment details

During the application process the traveler will be asked to answer a set of ETIAS background and security questions.

For family members of EU citizens or third country nationals benefiting from free movement without residence cards:

  • Please provide the identity and details of the familial relationship between the applicant and the EU citizen or third country national.

If the traveler has all the ETIAS requirements and is a citizen of any of the ETIAS eligible countries, it will take an average of 20 minutes to complete an ETIAS online application per person. Apart from having a valid passport, no further documentation will be required unless specifically requested by the member state for which the application is being made. ETIAS will accept applications made by third parties on behalf of an applicant.

Remember to go through our list of ETIAS requirements before you apply for the Europe visa waiver.

Revocation or annulment of ETIAS Travel Authorization

An ETIAS travel authorization will be revoked when the conditions for issuing the travel authorization are no longer met. Especially when there are grounds to believe that the travel authorization was obtained by providing misleading or fraudulent information.

Applications that are rejected during the automatic process will be transferred to an ETIAS Central Unit in the European Border and Coast Guard. They will quickly verify the application, and if the information provided is correct and truthful. Suspicious applications, or those that trigger an alert or hit, will be forwarded to the member state(s) responsible for giving the warning.

The agency for the operational management of large-scale information systems in the area of freedom, security, and justice (eu-LISA) will be responsible for the development of the ETIAS Information System and ensure its technical management. Europol Agency will also be involved with security aspects of both the development and implementation of the ETIAS program.

The ETIAS program will reinforce EU internal security in two ways:

  • Through the identification of persons that pose a security risk before they arrive at the Schengen external border.
  • By making information available to national law enforcement authorities and Europol, where this is necessary in a particular case of prevention, detection or investigation of a terrorist offence, or other serious criminal offences.

In the case of denial, the applicant may appeal to the member state that did not grant the ETIAS visa waiver. In such cases, the appeal will be under the jurisdiction of the member state. However, there will be a special procedure for exceptional circumstances e.g., for humanitarian grounds, for reasons of national interest or because of international obligations where ETIAS National Units may issue a travel authorization with limited territorial and temporal validity.

The ETIAS National Unit may request more information and/or documentation from the applicant if the information provided during the application process does not allow to decide whether to issue or refuse the ETIAS travel authorization. The responsible entity, i.e., ETIAS National Unit, will make the detailed request for more information via email.

The applicant will in turn need to provide this information and/or documentation within 7 working days. It will then take the ETIAS National Unit up to 72 hours to process the ETIAS authorization. In exceptional circumstances, the applicant may be required to undergo an interview at a consulate in his/her country of residence.

FAQs about ETIAS Requirements for Europe


By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I Agree