ETIAS Visa Waiver for Hungary

Europe Travel Authorization for Hungary

The ETIAS Visa Waiver for Hungary will be available by the end of 2022 for all travelers wishing to visit Hungary and other European nations from all ETIAS-eligible countries.

The ETIAS Visa Waiver stands for the European Travel Information and Authorisation System which seeks to become a European version of the US ESTA to help border control and immigration authorities secure and protect European borders from potential terrorist or health threats.

At present, Hungary has been a member of the European Union for 14 years after joining in 2004, after which the country also became a part of the Schengen Zone in 2007. Although maintaining a place of power and relative economic stability for large periods of history, Hungary has also experienced many political changes through it’s past.

European Visa Waiver System for Hungary

So that people can travel to and around Hungary from late 2021 onwards, being in possession of a valid approved Hungary ETIAS will be a requirement for travelers from eligible countries.

Visitors will need to complete the Hungary Visa Waiver online application form which consists of introducing personal information, travel details and responding to some basic security questions. The ETIAS application process should only take each applicant approximately 10 minutes to complete and will receive a fast response to the email address they provide.

The ETIAS program is being initiated in order to improve security of immigration and health risks throughout Europe after a string of recent terrorist attacks called for a stricter border control system.

Before being granted access to Hungary for tourism or business, each visitor must apply for and be granted a valid Hungarian ETIAS visa waiver which can be obtained through a simple online application and payment of the ETIAS fee.

Hungary, a History

After being inhabited by a succession of different peoples, the area now known as Hungary was officially established as such in the late 9th century. In 1000AD the country converted to Christianism and later gained more power towards the 15th century.

Following this period of growth and autonomous development, Hungary fell to Ottoman occupation then to Habsburg rule and emerged later to form the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The post First World War period saw a large portion of Hungarian territory removed and after suffering huge damages in the Second World War, the country became a part of the Soviet Bloc for the following four decades.

Finally October 1989 saw Hungary establish itself as a democratic parliamentary republic which has allowed the country to grow into a middle power within Europe and the world.

Now a safe, developed country within the EU, travelers come from all over to visit the attractions that Hungary and its capital city Budapest have to offer which is why it will be necessary for eligible citizens traveling to Europe to obtain a European Visa Waiver for Hungary before being allowed entry into the country.

Visiting Hungary: Tourist Attractions in Hungary

Landlocked and bordered by 7 different Central and Eastern European countries, Hungary is a medium-sized EU member state that invites tourism from all over. For those citizens who travel to Hungary from an ETIAS-eligible country, it will be necessary to have a Europe Travel Authorization for Hungary before departing.

Well known for its thermal waters, Hungary has offered spa culture as far back as Roman and Turkish times. The country is also dotted with caves, castles, lakes and plains which make the country a hub for historical and nature tourism.

Hungary is also home to a range of cities with early Christian architecture, cathedrals and palaces. As a nation very much steeped in history, there are museums of all kinds for different interests and various cultural attractions with numerous folk traditions still alive today including local dances and crafts.


By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I Agree