ETIAS Countries

The ETIAS Travel Authorization will be an obligatory requirement for those who want to visit Europe. Learn more about Europe and the ETIAS visa waiver.


The ETIAS program was created by the European Union to screen travelers before entering Europe. While the EU is made up of 28 sovereign nations, the ETIAS visa waiver will be needed to enter Schengen member countries.

There is a total of 26 countries in the Schengen Zone. Out of these, 22 are members of the European Union, and the remaining 4 belong to the European Free Trade Association. An EU citizen can travel and stay in any other EU nation.

The EU countries that require an EU travel authorization include all Schengen member states.

Please refer to the map below for the complete list of countries that will need to apply for an ETIAS before traveling to Europe.

Countries that will require the ETIAS visa Waiver:

These are the countries that will require a valid ETIAS visa waiver upon arrival in their territory:

Non-EU Member States:

Micro-States de facto part of Schengen Area:

  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City
  • EU Schengen Area
  • Non-Schengen EU States
  • Non-EU Schengen States

Schengen zone and border control

The Schengen Agreement was first signed in 1985 by 5 countries. The Schengen Zone is composed of 26 countries that acknowledge the abolishment of internal borders with other member countries. The agreement allows people, goods, services, and capital to move freely within Europe.

European citizens do not need a visa, nor a passport to travel within the Schengen Area.

6 European countries have not yet signed the Schengen Agreement:

When crossing each of these 6 countries, Europeans, as well as third country nationals, require a valid passport. Citizens of non-European countries will also require a visa when entering Europe through any of its external borders, such as Romania or Bulgaria.

Each of the 6 non-Schengen members have their own policy regarding foreign entry access. To learn more about each country in detail and their requirements regarding Schengen Visa access, go to the Schengen Visa page.

European Union

The European Union has grown exponentially over the years. Back in 1951, only Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands joined to cooperate economically. The EU is currently made up of 28 countries. The last nation to join was Croatia in 2013.

The euro (EUR) is the currency of 19 EU member countries and these make up the Eurozone.

European Free Trade Association

The European Free Trade Association, EFTA, is an organization made up of Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. This organisation was established to promote free trade and economic cooperation between them, as well as within Europe and countries around the world.


The single market of the European Union (also called internal market) allows the free movement of goods, services, people, and money. To better understand the free movement concept, imagine everything is happening within the borders of just one country. This is the general concept of the EU single market. What is more, European citizens can travel, study, live, work and retire in any EU member state.

Abolition of the internal borders between countries of the EU is also part of the internal market system, which was made possible due to the removal of countless technical, legal and bureaucratic barriers. A direct result of this were the newly opened possibilities for local business expansion at an international level, lowering of production prices, and increasing goods and customer choice.

Following are some clear examples of the European Union benefits:

  • National and international prices for calls in Europe have lowered significantly, compared to the market 10 years ago
  • New routes have opened up
  • Internal European flight fares have significantly fallen
  • Many companies and households can now choose their gas and electricity providers

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I Agree