ETIAS Visa Waiver for Austria

European travel authorization for Austria

Non-EU citizens from visa exempt countries will be able to get the Austria ETIAS visa waiver through the online automated system. The ETIAS for Austria will be available in the year 2021, and travellers that meet the requirements can complete the online application with a valid passport and an email address.

Austria is a Schengen member country, and its ranked one of the richest countries in the world. The country joined the European Union in 1995 and is a founder of the OECD. In 1995 Austria also signed the Schengen Agreement and adopted the Euro in 1999.

To visit Austria travellers should check the necessary requirements according to their nationality. In 2021, non-EU citizens who can currently travel visa-free to Austria will be expected to have an approved ETIAS travel authorization to enter the country.

Austria: a strong nation

Set in central Europe, the Republic of Austria is a landlocked country with 8.7 million people. Its origins date back to the Habsburg Dynasty when most of the country belonged to the Holy Roman Empire. In the 17th and 18th centuries Austria was an powerful nation, and the Austrian empire was proclaimed in 1804.

Prussia sought out to dominate the Greater Germany and thus began the Austro-Prussian War of 1866. Austria was defeated and Prussia was able to control the rest of Germany. The following year, the empire was reformed into Austria-Hungary. Later on, when France was defeated in the Franco-Prussian War, Austria did not become part of the new German Empire.

The Habsburg Empire collapsed at the end of World War I, in 1918. Austria adopted and used the name the Republic of German-Austria as an effort to join Germany. The union was forbidden under the Treaty of Versailles and in 1919 the First Austrian Republic was established. During World War II, Germany annexed Austria, but after the war ended and the Allies occupied the country, the democratic constitution was restored. In 1955, the Austrian State regained its sovereignty and in that same year the Austrian Parliament created the Declaration of Neutrality, which makes the country permanently neutral.

Austria today is economically strong and it has developed a high standard of living. As a member of the European Union and the Schengen Agreement, the ETIAS for Austria will be a necessary authorization to visit the country in the future.

Visiting and exploring Austria

Austria offers visitors the opportunity to explore its mountainous landscapes and fall in love with its charming villages. Austria is a beautiful destination and has some wonderful landmarks: from the enchanting Vienna to the dramatic Alps.

The alluring Austria has been home to some of the world's most incredible artists and musicians. The legacy of Mozart, Klimt, Schubert and more is palpable in the country today. Their work has been well preserved in several museums and galleries.

For those with a sweet tooth, Austria is an ideal destination. The smell of fresh bread and sweet cakes will lure you into any café or bakery. Visitors should try the signature Apfelstrudel. Beer lovers will also find plenty of places to indulge their thirsty taste buds.

Another advantage of the Austrian land is that it’s fairly easy to explore. It is a very safe country and has a great public transport system.

Europe's travel Authorization for Austria

The Visa waiver for Austria will be available for non-EU citizens from visa exempt countries in the year 2021. It is expected that as off that year, travelers can apply online to obtain their ETIAS authorization.

Travelers from eligible countries simply will have to complete an online application form with their personal details and passport information. Applicants will have to answer a few security questions and pay the fee for the ETIAS travel authorization.

Once it is approved, the ETIAS will be valid for three consecutive years or until the passport expires.


By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I Agree