ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) will be introduced by the end of 2022. Many nationalities who can currently enter any of the Schengen countries without any type of visa or travel authorization, will need to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver before setting off.

The application will be quick and simple but applicants will need to pay the ETIAS fee using a credit or debit card. It will be necessary to pay the amount for ETIAS to finalize the ETIAS application. Once the fee has been paid, applications will be quickly processed and approved ETIAS visa waivers will be sent to applicants by email.

The European Union decided to introduce ETIAS to improve the security of the Schengen Area. During the application process, applicants will be pre-screened to ensure they do not pose a security threat to the region. It has been designed to reduce the risks to both Europeans and visitors to the continent.

How Much is the ETIAS fee?

The cost of ETIAS will consist of the the fee required by the European authorities plus any administration charges which may apply. Applicants will need to pay the amount by credit or debit card in order to finalize their application and receive and approved ETIAS visa waiver.

The ETIAS fee will be very straightforward to pay. Applicants will just need to enter their credit or debit card details such as the card holder’s name, the card number, the expiry date, and the CVV/CVC. The payment screen will be very familiar to those who are used to paying online.

Which Nationalities Will Need to Pay the ETIAS Fee?

By the end of 2022, ETIAS will become a requirement for citizens of all ETIAS-eligible countries. Travelers from these countries will need to pay the ETIAS fee in order to obtain their ETIAS visa waivers.

The list of ETIAS-eligible countries consists mainly of countries who are currently eligible for visa-free entry into the Schengen Area. These countries include the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Brazil, and Argentina. More countries may be added to the list before the launch of ETIAS.

Which Countries Will Travelers Need to Pay the ETIAS Fee to Enter?

Travelers from eligible countries will need to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver to enter all of the countries in the Schengen Area. Therefore, it will be necessary to pay the ETIAS fee to enter any of the countries in the zone.

The following countries are in the Schengen Area:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

How Often Will Travelers Need to Pay the ETIAS Fee?

Travelers will have to pay for the cost of ETIAS when they complete the ETIAS application form. ETIAS visa waivers will be valid for 3-year periods and will allow people to enter the Schengen Area for periods of up to 90 days (within any 180-day period).

After the an ETIAS visa waiver expires, it is necessary to apply for an ETIAS renewal in order to reenter any of the Schengen countries. The application is just as quick and simple as the original application and the ETIAS fee will most likely be the same.