As things stand, there will be 60 visa-exempt countries (listed below) whose citizens will be able to obtain an ETIAS travel authorization after its implementation in 2021. The ETIAS visa will permit entry into the Schengen Area.

Which countries will be required to apply for ETIAS?

The citizens of all visa-exempt countries, which are outside of the European Union, will be required to make an ETIAS visa application before their trip to the Schengen Area.

An ETIAS grants entry to the 26 European states in the Schengen Area. These countries have officially abolished passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders.

The 26 ETIAS countries include of all the EU countries (except the UK and Ireland) as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Three microstates are also included: Monaco, San Marino,and the Vatican City.

Who needs an ETIAS visa?

If you want to learn more about the Schengen Member States short-term entry regulations, click here. Note that the following list of ETIAS countries has not yet been finalised by the European Commission. It is likely that more countries will be added to the list in the future.

Nationalities who can apply for an ETIAS authorization:

You can check the requirements for entering Europe from 2021 and the list of ETIAS countries.