In response to the growing threat of terrorism, the European Union will implement the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) by 2021. The program will be somewhat similar to the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) program in place in the United States, which screens passengers before arriving in the U.S.

Once in place, the ETIAS program will be able to improve security standards at European airports. Under the planned rollout, passengers traveling to the 26 countries of the Schengen Area must fill out an ETIAS application before embarking on their travels and are required to pay a electronic travel authorization fee. After providing their personal details, including passport information and travel plans, the applicant’s data will then be checked against European and global security databases, including SIS, VIS, EUROPOL, and ECRIS.

To apply, a traveler needs a valid passport and credit card, as set as travel plans.

The traveler normally receives their ETIAS authorization in a matter of minutes. Rejected passengers require manual processing and this protocol can take up to 2 weeks.

ETIAS Validity Period

ETIAS has a relatively long expiry date, especially when compared to similar visa waivers already implemented by countries such as the United States or Canada.

How long is ETIAS valid for?

The ETIAS validity period is 3 years, a period of time that is considerably longer than other similar travel authorizations in place in other countries around the world. Indeed, one of the greatest ETIAS benefits is not only the nominal fee and easy application, but also the fact that it has a relatively long expiration date, allowing travelers to save time and money while still increasing the safety measures necessary to protect European borders.

The ETIAS travel authorization is also good for multiple entries, which means that you can take several trips to the Schengen Zone within 3 years. If your ETIAS has expired you will have to file an application for a new one.

If you have double nationality and hold 2 eligible passports, you can use either one to apply for ETIAS as long as they are valid. However, if one of them is going to expire in fewer than 3 years, it is strongly advisable that you use the passport with a longer validity date to request your ETIAS visa waiver.

Can My ETIAS Be Revoked?

Simply possessing a valid ETIAS does not mean that the traveler is guaranteed entry into the Schengen Area. The annulment of an ETIAS authorization is certainly possible if it was obtained by providing fraudulent information, in the event of new security alerts, or if the conditions under which the original authorization was issued are no longer met.

The ETIAS visa waiver can be annulled or revoked by the European authorities if the conditions for issuing the travel authorization no longer apply, or if the travel authorization holder is found to have violated any of the ETIAS rules.

When Does My ETIAS Expire?

Those wondering how long does the ETIAS visa waiver last may rest assured this visa waiver does not have a short expiration date.

This travel authorization lasts for 3 years or up to the expiry date of the passport to which it is attached, whichever happens first. The ETIAS visa waiver also allows for an unlimited number of entries, although it does limit each one of the stays to 90 days.

While the ETIAS is valid for 3 years, the limit for stays up to 90 days without a visa still applies.

How Can I Renew My ETIAS visa waiver?

It is possible to renew the ETIAS travel authorization.

If your ETIAS is about to expire, you can apply for a new one online at the end of the validity of the visa waiver. It is possible to submit this new application up to 91 days before the expiration date of the current European travel authorization. The application process is exactly the same as that followed by first-time applicants. Please note your passport should be valid for at least 90 days from the time you plan to enter Europe again.


  • The ETIAS visa waiver is valid for a total of 3 years.
  • Each stay is limited to 90 consecutive days.
  • The ETIAS authorization runs out after 3 years or when your passport expires, whichever comes first.
  • ETIAS can be renewed by following the same application process used the first time it was requested