What is ETIAS?

About ETIAS: It stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System and is a type of European visa waiver. It will allow travelers to visit the countries in the Schengen Zone, it has not yet come into effect. It will be similar to the US ESTA.

When ETIAS come into effect? Do I need one to travel to the Schengen zone now?

ETIAS, the EU visa waiver for Europe, will be a legal requirement for those visiting the Schengen Zone by the end of 2022 onwards. Until 2022, people who want to visit Europe do not need an ETIAS visa waiver but will need to check the Schengen visa requirements for their nationality.

What is the purpose of ETIAS?

ETIAS for Europe is being introduced by the European Union to help strengthen border control around the Schengen zone. The ETIAS process has also been designed to make entering the Schengen zone quicker for visitors.

Who will ETIAS affect?

Every traveler who plans on visiting the European Schengen zone from late 2022 onwards (unless they are exempt) will need to obtain an ETIAS. it will be a legal requirement to enter Schengen countries.

How will travelers get an ETIAS?

It will be obtainable through an online application system which is quick and simple to use. Applicants will need to answer some basic personal questions (such as name, address and date of birth), and enter some information regarding their travel history, and their health.

The ETIAS application will be screened by various security organizations such as Interpol and Europol.

What are the ETIAS for Europe requirements?

To apply for an ETIAS visa waiver applicants will need to have a valid passport, an email address to receive the visa waiver, and a credit or debit card to pay the ETIAS fee.

For how long will an ETIAS last?

three years, or until the holder’s passport expires (whichever happens first).

Will I need to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver each time I want to enter the Schengen Zone?

No, the visa waiver allows multiple entries as long as the traveler does not spend over 90 days out of 180 in the Schengen zone.

Do minors need an ETIAS visa waiver?

No, only adults (over 18 years old) need to obtain an ETIAS EU visa waiver for Europe.

To which countries will the ETIAS visa waiver grant access?

Not all of the countries in the European Union are in the Schengen zone (the UK aren’t for example). Currently, the countries in the Schengen Zone (that the ETIAS visa waiver will grant entry to) are:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Spain, and Switzerland.